Coming Concerts
Press releases
Where to buy
Join mailing list
Phosphorescent Dreams

I wanted this 13th album to open the band's music to other directions, different sound and musical structures, different from the ones that had been in use for years.

I think it is necessary and crucial for a group to question itself now and then.

The old form was stagnant and did not give the impression of change, and the consequences were increasingly demotivating. So there was no choice, I felt I had to take the difficult decision to break up the group. Luckily I had met Nicolas Dechene and Antoine Guenet who could contribute with freshness and new energy to this next incarnation of UZ.

I wanted the future of Univers Zero's music to have less noise than before and to obtain new energy in a more rock and electrical orientation, and integrated with guitar.

Mixing Kurt Bude compositions with mine, forms an excellent rich diversity in fusion. Each track on the disc has its own identity and its own color.

I really think this CD has reached maturity, and after 40 years of existence I can truly say UZ is again taking an important step . And never forget Didier de Roos who mixed this CD, contributed to the sound, and as always, elevated the music to higher levels.

Daniel Denis


2014 Interview with Daniel Denis in English and in French.


Photos from the recording session at Studio Dingo here

Phosphorescent Dreams - Released on Label Arcangelo (Japan) 19. February 2014 and distributed by Diskunion (Japan).

3 minutes samples/excerpts of some tunes from the album (5 mb - opens in a new window)

Recorded between 1rst and 15 July 2013 by Renzo Gotto and Didier de Roos at Studio Dingo
Production, Soignies, Belgium.
Assistant engineer : Michaël Dardilhac
Mixed and mastered between October and November 2013 by Didier de Roos at Fields Studio, Braine-l’Alleud, Belgium.
Art and Design by Thierry Moreau.
Kurt Budé : clarinet, bass clarinet, alto and tenor saxophones, percussion.
Nicolas Dechêne : electric and acoustic guitars
Daniel Denis : drums and percussion
Dimitri Evers : electric bass, fretless bass
Antoine Guenet : keyboard
Nicolas Denis : drums and percussion on « Très Affables »
Hugues Tahon : trumpet on « Rêve Mécanique », « L’Espoir Perdu » and « Phosphorescent Dream »
Adrien Lambinet : trombone on « Rêve Mécanique » and « L’Espoir Perdu »

Shaking Hats (Daniel Denis)
Rêve Mécanique (Kurt Budé)
Très Affables (Daniel Denis)
Vocation (Kurt Budé)
Les Voleurs d’Ombre (Daniel Denis)
L’Espoir Perdu (Kurt Budé)
Phosphorescent Dream (Daniel Denis)

Released on Label Arcangelo (Japan) and will be distributed by Diskunion (Japan).
Cat. No.: ARC-1313
Barcode: 4988044001985

(c) 2013 Univers Zero / Daniel Denis
(p) 2013 diskunion 

Arcangelo : 28 Sanbancho, Chiyoda-ku, Tokyo 102-0075 Japan

ero Phosphorescent Dreams
Click to view a lager version

Go to Clivages